RATIO | smdp is an innovative global design studio comprised of dedicated design professionals providing solutions to contemporary architectural and urban issues.

Our methods are based on a process of discovery that is informed by the distinctive social, cultural, economic and physical opportunities inherent to each design problem. Through this process, we generate unique and original solutions that enrich our communities and bring value to our clients.

Our unique approach to design is evident in a diverse body of work which includes projects of various scale, typology, geography and appearance.

Placemaking, innovation and craft are the foundations of our work, whether in Cairo or Chicago. We achieve this by reflecting the unique cultural and historical context of each place we have the opportunity to influence.

Scott Sarver
Principal / Studio Leader

Meet the Team

Bill Browne, Jr. FAIA, LEED AP

Principal / CEO

Scott Sarver AIA

Principal / Architecture

Dae-Hong Minn

Principal / Architecture

Andrea Caputo IIDA

Principal / Chicago Interiors Leader

Chris Boardman AIA, LEED AP

Principal / President

Hal Bowen AIA, LEED AP

Principal / Raleigh Studio Leader

Dustin Eggink AIA, LEED AP BD+C

Principal / Architecture

Lisa Esterrich PLA, ASLA

Principal / Raleigh Landscape Arch. Leader

Tom Gallagher PLA, LFA, EcoDistricts AP

Principal / Director of Design

Larry George

Principal / Dir. of Project Performance

Rebecca Hinz RID, IIDA

Principal / Interior Design

Tracy Imes PHR

Principal / Director of Human Resources

John Jackson PLA, LEED AP

Principal / Dir. of LA & Urban Design

Dave Kroll Associate AIA

Principal / Director of Preservation

Clay Markham

Principal / Architecture

Chris Meier AIA, LEED AP

Principal / Dir. of Ops & Indpls Studio Leader

Jeff Milliken AIA, LEED AP

Principal / Architecture

Rob Proctor AIA, LEED AP

Principal / Architecture

Ed Scopel AIA

Principal / Champaign Studio Leader

Teresa Smith

Principal / Director of Accounting

Jennifer Song Koeppe AIA, A4LE

Principal / Architecture

Bryan Strube

Principal / Director of Finance

Angie Wallin

Principal / Business Development Leader

Heather Worrell AIA

Principal / Director of Design Delivery


Principal / Denver Studio Leader

Insung Chu LEED AP

Associate Principal / Architecture

Jaemyung Byun

Associate Principal / Architecture

Jihun Jun

Associate Principal / Architecture

Noel Abbott

Associate Principal / Business Development Leader

Cody Bornsheuer AIA, LEED AP BD+C

Associate Principal / Architecture

Seungpum Yoo AIA

Senior Associate / Architecture

Steven Pantazis AIA, LEED AP BD+C

Senior Associate / Architecture


Associate / Architecture

Contact Us

"*" indicates required fields

This field is for validation purposes and should be left unchanged.